Thursday, 13 April 2017
  0 Replies
  11.7K Visits

The Federal Land Policy and Management Act (FLPMA) directs the Secretary of the Interior to involve the public in planning and issues related to management of lands administered by the BLM. Section 309 of FLPMA directs the Secretary to establish 10- to 15-member citizen-based advisory councils that are consistent with the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA). As required by FACA, RAC membership must be balanced and representative of the various interests concerned with the management of the public lands. The rules governing RACs are found at 43 CFR subpart 1784 and include the following three membership categories:

Category One—Holders of Federal grazing permits and representatives of organizations associated with energy and mineral development, the timber industry, transportation or rights-of-way, developed outdoor recreation, off-highway vehicle use, and commercial recreation;

Category Two—Representatives of nationally or regionally recognized environmental organizations, archaeological and historic organizations, dispersed recreation activities, and wild horse and burro organizations; and

Category Three—Representatives of State, county, or local elected office, employees of a State agency responsible for management of natural resources, representatives of Indian tribes within or adjacent to the area for which the council is organized, representatives of academia who are employed in natural sciences, and the public-at-large.

Individuals may nominate themselves or others. Nominees must be residents of the State in which the RAC has jurisdiction. The BLM will evaluate nominees based on their education, training, experience, and knowledge of the geographic area of the RAC. Nominees should demonstrate a commitment to collaborative resource decision-making.

The following must accompany all nominations:

—Letters of reference from represented interests or organizations;

—A completed Resource Advisory Council application; and

—Any other information that addresses the nominee's qualifications.

Simultaneous with this notice, BLM State offices will issue press releases providing additional information for submitting nominations, with specifics about the number and categories of member positions available for each RAC in the state.

Before including any address, phone number, email address, or other personal identifying information in the application, nominees should be aware this information may be made publicly available at any time. While the nominee can ask to withhold the personal identifying information from public review, BLM cannot guarantee that it will be able to do so.

Nominations and completed applications for RACs should be sent to the appropriate BLM offices listed below:

Arizona RAC

Amber Cargile, BLM Arizona State Office, One North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85004, 602-417-9448.


California Desert District Advisory Council

Steve Razo, BLM California Desert District, 22835 Calle San Juan De Los Lagos, Moreno Valley, CA 92553, 951-697-5217.

Northern California RAC

Jeff Fontana, BLM Northern California District, 2550 Riverside Drive, Susanville, CA 96130, 530-252-5332.


Rocky Mountain RAC

Amber Iannella, BLM Royal Gorge Field Office, 3028 East Main Street, Cañon City, CO 81212, 480-622-1912.

Northwest RAC

David Boyd, BLM Northwest District Office, 2300 River Frontage Road, Silt, CO 81652, 970-876-9008.

Southwest RAC

Shannon Borders, BLM Southwest District Office, 2465 South Townsend Avenue, Montrose, CO 81401, 970-240-5399.


Boise District RAC

Michael Williamson, BLM Boise District Office, 3948 South Development Avenue, Boise, ID 83705, 208-384-3393.

Coeur d'Alene District RAC

Suzanne Endsley, BLM Coeur d'Alene District Office, 3815 Schreiber Way, Coeur d'Alene, ID 83815, 208-769-5004.

Idaho Falls District RAC

Sarah Wheeler, BLM Idaho Falls District Office, 1405 Hollipark Drive, Idaho Falls, ID 83401, 208-524-7550.

Twin Falls District RAC

Heather Tiel-Nelson, BLM Twin Falls District Office, 2878 Addison Avenue East, Twin Falls, ID 83301, 208-736-2352.

Montana and Dakotas

Central Montana RAC

Jonathan Moor, BLM Lewistown Field Office, 920 Northeast Main Street, Lewistown, MT 59457, 406-538-1943.

Dakotas RAC

Mark Jacobsen, BLM Eastern Montana/Dakotas District, 111 Garryowen Road, Miles City, MT 59301, 406-233-2800.

Eastern Montana RAC

Mark Jacobsen, BLM Eastern Montana/Dakotas District, 111 Garryowen Road, Miles City, MT 59301, 406-233-2800.

Western Montana RAC

David Abrams, BLM Butte Field Office, 106 North Parkmont, Butte, MT 59701, 406-533-7617.

New Mexico

Albuquerque District RAC

Jack River, BLM Rio Puerco Field Office, 100 Sun Avenue Northeast, Pan American Building, Suite 330, Albuquerque, NM 87109, 505-761-8755.

Farmington District RAC

Zachary Stone, BLM Farmington District Office, 6251 College Boulevard, Farmington, NM 87402, 505-564-7677.

Las Cruces District RAC

Deborah Stevens, BLM Las Cruces District Office, 1800 Marquess Street, Las Cruces, NM 88005, 575-525-4421.

Pecos District RAC

Glen Garnand, BLM Pecos District Office, 2909 West Second Street, Roswell, NM 88201, 575-627-0209.


Mojave-Southern Great Basin RAC; Northeastern Great Basin RAC; Sierra Front Northwestern Great Basin RAC

Chris Rose, BLM Nevada State Office, 1340 Financial Boulevard, Reno, NV 89502, 775-861-6480.


Coastal Oregon RAC

Megan Harper, BLM Coos Bay District Office, 1300 Airport Lane, North Bend, OR 97459, 541-751-4353.

Eastern Washington RAC

Jeff Clark, BLM Spokane District Office, 1103 North Fancher Road, Spokane, WA 99212, 509-536-1297.

John Day-Snake RAC

Lisa Clark, BLM Prineville District Office, 3050 NE 3rd Street, Prineville, OR 97754, 541-416-6864.

Northwest Oregon RAC

Jennifer Velez, BLM Northwest District Office, 1717 Fabry Road SE., Salem, OR 97306.

San Juan Islands National Monument Advisory Committee

Marcia de Chadenedes, BLM San Juan Island National Monument Office, P.O. Box 3, 37 Washburn Avenue, Lopez Island, Washington 98261, 360-468-3051.

Southeast Oregon RAC

Larisa Bogardus, BLM Lakeview District Office, 3050 NE. 3rd Street, Prineville, OR 97754, 541-947-6237.

Steens Mountain Advisory Council

Tara Thissell, BLM Burns District Office, 28910 Highway 20 West, Hine, OR 97738, 541-573-4519.


Utah RAC

Lola Bird, BLM Utah State Office, 440 West 200 South, Suite 500, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, 801-539-4033.

Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument Advisory Committee

Larry Crutchfield, BLM Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument Office, 669 South Highway 89 A, Kanab, UT 84741, 435-644-1209.


Wyoming RAC

Kristen Lenhardt, BLM Wyoming State Office, 5353 Yellowstone Road, P.O. Box 1828, Cheyenne, WY 82003, 307-775-6015.


Read the complete Federal Register Notice

John Stewart Managing Editor - 4x4Voice - 4x4Wire - Natural Resources Consultant - California Four Wheel Drive Association - Board of Directors - BlueRibbon Coalition

There are no replies made for this post yet.
Be one of the first to reply to this post!

OutdoorWire, 4x4Wire, JeepWire, TrailTalk, MUIRNet-News, and 4x4Voice are all trademarks and publications of OutdoorWire, Inc. and MUIRNet Consulting. Copyright (c) 1999-2020 OutdoorWire, Inc and MUIRNet Consulting - All Rights Reserved, no part of this publication may be reproduced in any form without express written permission. You may link freely to this site, but no further use is allowed without the express written permission of the owner of this material. All corporate trademarks are the property of their respective owners.